A little background

I am originally from the USA but having been living in Colombia on and off since 2013 when I met the mother of my now 18 month old son Paul. I came to Colombia in December of 2013 to meet my girlfriend and now fiance my son was born a year later premature by about 6 weeks. I had to leave Colombia in February of 2015 and pay a small fine for overstaying my visa; because my son was premature he spent a lot of time in the hospital and most of my interaction with him was in hospitals and just about 2 weeks outside before I had to return. Little did I know that when I returned to the US I would myself be spending time in hospitals and treatment as I had dropped a lot of weight in my final few months in Colombia and seemed as if all of my energy had disappeared. A long story short after having spent 12 weeks going through cancer treatment and my entire savings and not knowing if or when the cancer may return as I am now in remission. I felt I needed to be with my son, to get to know him as my own father died when I was very young and I never knew him nor had photos of him, so I sold my car and booked a flght to be there for his first birthday.

Leave a Reply

